FIA World Council decisions

A number of key decisions were taken at the FIA World Council meeting that was held in Saint Petersburg, Russia, on December 5. Many of them referred to some of the global championships in which Michelin is active, namely the WEC, WRC and Formula E.

Racing today… and yesterday for tomorrow’s mobility! Motorsport heritage, from the Lancia Aurelia to Formula E

The past and the future caught up with each other at last weekend’s Charade Heroes event (September 22-23) at Circuit de Charade* in the Auvergne Mountains near Clermont-Ferrand, France. Displays ranged from a Lancia Aurelia fitted with the first Michelin X radial tyres to a worthy successor of this industry-changing technology: the Michelin Pilot Sport which stars in the all-electric FIA Formula E Championship Both exemplify the important contribution motorsport can and does make to taking mobility forward. 

2019 Dakar: 18th straight win for KTM and Michelin

Three years after his maiden Dakar success, Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team/ Michelin) finished on top again to earn Michelin’s 36th victory on the cross-country classic, as well as KTM’s 18th on the trot in association with the French tyre firm. The Australian finished clear of his team-mate and last year’s victor Matthias Walkner, while Sam Sunderland (Red Bull KTM Factory Team/Michelin) made it an all-KTM/Michelin top three.



The 41st running of the Dakar Rally, which started and ended in Lima, Peru, turned out to be a fiercely-fought affair, with a menu of 10 stages which chiefly featured the dunes of the country’s magnificent deserts.

The gap between Price and Pablo Quintanilla (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing / Michelin) stood at just 1m2s ahead of the final leg from Pisco to Lima.

Despite suffering from a painful wrist sustained in a fall prior to the start, Price seemed to get stronger as the event progressed. With his KTM running on the new MICHELIN Desert Race Baja, he inherited the lead after Stage 8 following the fall of the then leader Ricky Brabec (Monster Energy Honda Team 2019).

Although he was only fastest on the final test, the Australian reached the finish more than nine minutes clear of Walkner after chief rival Quintanilla fell shortly after the start. The Chilean dropped almost 20 minutes to the leader, relinquishing third spot to the 2017 winner Sunderland, but he recovered to finish just shy of the podium.

“This Dakar was crazy. And it’s crazy to think that I didn’t win a single stage until the very last day, but I still won,” beamed the delighted Price at the finish. “These past 10 days felt very long. It felt like five guys were riding over my wrist the whole time. It really wasn’t very comfortable but the pain disappears when you win. The joy of winning outweighs the pain.”

The result saw KTM and Michelin score their 18th Dakar victory together and the two firms are now unbeaten on the famous event since 2001.

Early pace-setter Joan Barreda(Monster Energy Honda Team 2019) fell out of contention when bike damage caused by a fall on Day 3 made him the first of the favourites to be side-lined.

Michelin celebrated its 36th Dakar by monopolising the final podium.



The 2019 WRC gets official send-off

The 47th FIA World Rally Championship was officially launched to the backdrop of Autosport International 2019 in Birmingham, England, on Saturday afternoon (January 12).  

FIA Formula E

More Morocco glory for Mahindra Racing

After winning last season’s visit to Marrakech, Mahindra Racing finished on top again this time around thanks to Jérôme d’Ambrosio who was joined on the podium by Envision Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns and Sam Bird. Antonio Felix da Costa tangled late in the race with his BMW I Andretti Motorsport team-mate while leading, and defending champion Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) span at the race’s first turn.

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - Marrakesh - Racecard

All you need to know about the Marrakesh E-Prix with our racecardClick on the photo to download.

FIA Formula E

BMW/Michelin claims maiden Formula E success

Round 1 of the 2018/2019 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, was won by Antonio Felix da Costa. The Portuguese BMW i Andretti Motorsport driver was joined on the podium by Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing/Michelin).

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018

Desarrollo sostenible