24H du Mans

Toyota and Michelin score Le Mans hat trick!

The partnership between Michelin and Toyota Gazoo Racing delivered a third consecutive triumph at Le Mans this weekend with the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid crewed by Sébastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Kazuki Nakajima. Thanks to the long-lasting performance of its Pilot Sport range, Michelin not only succeeded in completing a record-breaking quintuple stint with a Rebellion prototype on the same four tyres, but also achieved a grand-slam result at the great French race for the second year running, accompanying United Autosports to victory in LMP2 and Aston Martins to the top step of the podium in LMGTE Pro and Am. Michelin dedicates these successes to all the passionate and loyal endurance racing fans who were unfortunately unable to attend the 88th edition of this legendary race which was held behind closed doors for the first time due to the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic.

24H du Mans

FIA WEC - Le Mans 24 Hours - Raceguide

Le Mans is a motor racing classic, but for Michelin it is far more than that.Download our raceguide to discover it.

24H du Mans

A shower of records for Michelin at Le Mans

Scoring a 23rd consecutive victory at September’s Le Mans 24 Hours wasn’t the only new benchmark Michelin established in La Sarthe this year…

  • The most striking achievement of the 2020 Le Mans was probably the fact that a single set of Michelin Pilot Sport tyres completed no less than 750 kilometres at an average speed nudging 240kph when Californian Gustavo Menezes completed 55 laps in the N°1 Rebellion R13 LMP1 prototype on Sunday morning.
  • Japan’s Kamui Kobayashi clinched pole-position in Friday’s Hyperpole shootout with a new lap record (3m15.267s / 251.2kph) for Version 15 of the Circuit des 24 Heures (13.626km) in his Toyota TS050 Hybrid.
  • The same session saw Michelin post a new fastest lap time in LMP2 (3m24.528s / 239.8kph), thanks to ex-F1 driver Paul di Resta in the N°22 Oreca-Gibson.
  • A new race lap record was clocked on Michelin Pilot Sport tyres in LMGTE Am when Ross Gunn produced a time of 3m52.449s (211kph) – an improvement of practically three seconds! – in the N°98 Aston Martin Vantage.
  • Bruno Senna (Rebellion R13/Michelin) came close to bettering the existing benchmark for the fastest race lap average speed behind the wheel of a non-hybrid LMP1 prototype, falling just 0.2kph short of the 246.4kph recorded by a Michelin-equipped Audi some years back.
  • This year’s race saw the LMP2 distance record beaten, too, thanks to the 5,041.62km/370 laps completed by the N°22 United Autosports Oreca-Gibson of Paul di Resta/Filipe Albuquerque/Phil Hanson which consumed just 13 sets of Michelin Pilot Sport tyres in the process.
  • Two Michelin-equipped cars– the N°97 Aston Martin Vantage and N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE Evo – went further in the race than any LMGTE Pro runner before them (4,714.59km).
  • The top-five LMGTE Am finishers (representing three different makes, and all on Michelin rubber) beat the class’s race-distance record. The figure to beat now stands at 4,619km (339 laps).


MotoGP™: Qatar glory for Viñales as Michelin plays part in three new records

Sunday’s Barwa Grand Prix of Qatar saw Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) claim the first win of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship, ahead of Johann Zarco (2nd, Pramac Racing) and Francesco Bagnaia (3rd, Ducati Lenovo Team). The grip and consistency provided by the MICHELIN Power Slick made an active contribution to the excitement of the year’s opener which produced new track and race lap records, as well as a new top-speed benchmark.  


New records for Michelin at Sebring

Michelin scooped the top prize at the 2021 12 Hours of Sebring (Florida, USA) which was won by the JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillac-DPi-V.R of Frenchmen Loïc Duval, Tristan Vautier and Sébastien Bourdais. Sebring is one of motor racing’s toughest venues for tires and a great track therefore to prepare for the FIA World Endurance Championship which this year kicks off at Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium, on May 1.


Long-lasting performance in Asia too!

The Michelin Pilot Sport range of endurance racing tyres showcased its winning ability in the recent 2021 Asian Le Mans Series which was hosted by the United Arab Emirates. G-Drive Racing claimed the Teams’ and Drivers’ crowns to earn an invitation to contest this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours.

Michelin to support European Rally Championship youngsters

Michelin has joined forces with Eurosport Events , promoter of the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC), to organise the ERC-MICHELIN Talent Factory for drivers aged under 28.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup



Desarrollo sostenible