FIA WRC - Rallye Monte-Carlo - Racecard

The 2020 FIA World Rally Championship gets underway with one of the most iconic and demanding events for the tyres, Rallye Monte-Carlo. Click on the photo to download our racecard!


Monte Carlo 1966: Citroën and Michelin win another ‘duel of ’66’…

James Mangold’s film ‘Le Mans 1966’ starring Matt Damon et Christian Bale relates how Ford succeeded in thwarting mighty Ferrari at Le Mans. Earlier the same year, Citroën and Michelin finished on top after a thrilling duel on another legendary event – the Rallye Monte-Carlo.


Citroën and Michelin: a winning combination in the WRC

Citroën has announced its intention to curtail its involvement in the FIA World Rally Championship. Together, the French car firm and Michelin have harvested five Manufacturers’ titles, four Drivers’ crowns, 58 world-class wins and 150 podium finishes.

Citroën and Michelin were partners in topflight rallying well before the creation of the WRC in 1973. Indeed, in the 1950s, the French firms gleaned success in the sport with the ID and DS.

The pairing’s first world championship podium was notched up by Portugal’s Francisco Romaozinho who obtained a top-three finish driving a DS21 on his home event – the Rali Internacional TAP – in 1973.

The brand’s programme with the BX4TC in the 1980s failed to make an impact, but Citroën and Michelin returned to the series in resounding fashion when Philippe Bugalski took a surprising win in Catalonia in 1999, beating the powerful four-wheel drive contenders of the day in his two-wheel drive Xsara Kit-Car. The result was the fruit of a long technical collaboration between Citroën and Michelin in several national championships.

Three years later, again with Michelin, Citroën contested a programme of selected WRC rounds that saw young Sébastien Loeb take his debut win in Germany. The French team upgraded to a full assault in 2003 with a star-studded line-up comprising Loeb, Carlos Sainz and Colin McRae. The year’s opening clash – the Rallye Monte-Carlo – produced a landmark one-two-three finish for the Citroën Xsara WRC/Michelin.

From 2003 until 2005, Citroën and Michelin practically ruled the WRC roost, claiming three straight Manufacturers’ crowns, two Drivers’ titles with Loeb and 22 outright wins, including a record-breaking 11 in 2005 alone. The same year saw it post the championship’s longest ever unbeaten run (six events), while Loeb, Citroën and Michelin were fastest on all 12 stages in Corsica!

To prepare for its return with the C4 WRC in 2007, Citroën took a year off in 2006, but that didn’t prevent Loeb from dominating the series in a privately-run Citroën Xsara WRC competing on Michelin Group tyres.

Citroën and Michelin joined forces at WRC level once more in 2011, the season that marked the Clermont-Ferrand-based tyre company’s return to the championship. The two partners hit the ground running to secure back-to-back Manufacturers’ and Drivers’ titles in 2011 and 2012 before Loeb’s ‘retirement’ from the series.


Citroën had another spell away to prepare for a comeback with the current Citroën C3 WRC/Michelin in 2017. The programme proved less successful, however, although reigning world champion monde Sébastien Ogier succeeded in earning the French make’s 100th WRC victory on this year’s Rallye Monte-Carlo on Michelin rubber.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Santiago glory for Max Günther

The 2020 Santiago E-Prix in Chile saw Maximilian Gunther score his maiden Formula E victory at the wheel of his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped BMW iFE.20.

Michelin’s decade of innovation and success in motorsport

In the course of the past 10 years, Michelin’s increasingly sophisticated, energy-efficient, consistent and, now, connected tyres collected more than 300 world-class victories in disciplines as varied as MotoGP, endurance racing, rallying and Formula E. 


Toyota/Michelin claim 1st and 2nd places in Bahrain

Toyota Gazoo Racing dominated the last FIA WEC race of the year to collect first and second places in Bahrain with the N°7 (Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez) and N°8 (Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley) Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids. The French tyre firm topped the order in the other three classes, too, with the N°22 United Autosports Oreca-Gibson (LMP2), N°95 Aston Martin (LMGTE Pro) and N°57 Porsche (LMGTE Am).


Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup



Desarrollo sostenible