FIA Formula E

Brits rule in London on Michelin rubber

The 2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship’s London races were won by Britons Jake Dennis (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) and Alex Lynn (Mahindra Racing). The last appearance of the all-electric competition’s MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV-equipped cars this season will be the finale in Berlin, Germany, on August 14-15.

FIA Formula E

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV takes bite out of the Big Apple

The traction performance delivered by the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV Formula E tire helped Germany’s Maximilian Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) and Sam Bird (Jaguar Racing) to claim the weekend’s two New York E-Prix at Brooklyn’s riverside circuit.

FIA Formula E

De Vries and Mercedes clinch Formula E’s 2021 world crowns with Michelin

As one of Formula E’s founding partners, Michelin is proud to have been associated with Nyck de Vries and Mercedes-EQ FE Team, winners of the all-electric competition’s first world crowns. Along with the titles it has harvested in Formula 1, rallying and endurance racing, Michelin can claim to have secured titles in every one of the FIA’s motorsport world championships. The winners of the weekend’s two Berlin races were Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) and Norman Nato (RoKit Venturi Racing).

First organized in 2014, Formula E was promoted to FIA world championship status this season, which means de Vries and Mercedes-EQ FE Team are the sport’s first world champions, aided by the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV, the versatile (dry and wet conditions), efficient and connected 18-inch tire designed specifically for the series. Its derivative – the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV road tire – is today a feature of the highest-performing hybrid and electric road cars.

The season that concluded today in Germany threw an exceptional variety of conditions at Michelin’s Formula E tire, from the sand-coated streets of Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, and rain in Rome, Italy, to a long version of Monaco’s celebrated street circuit, banked turns in Puebla, Mexico, and Berlin Tempelhof’s highly abrasive concrete. The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV took all of these challenges and many others in its stride, however, to confirm its performance and longevity and contribute to a particularly thrilling 15-race ‘Season 7’ that produced no fewer than 11 different victors.


Saturday’s Berlin E-Prix – Audi’s last – saw Brazil’s di Grassi claim his 12th Formula E victory, ahead of Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) and Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing), after DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne (6th) and Antonio Felix da Costa (7th) had monopolized the grid’s front row.

There were still no fewer than 13 drivers in contention for the Drivers’ crown prior to the start of Sunday’s race which took place on the same abrasive track, but in the opposite direction.

Title favorites Evans and Mortara collided at lights-out, though, and the re-start saw another potential champion – rookie Jack Dennis – crash out. Dutchman de Vries, who had topped the table before the trip to Berlin, stayed out of trouble however to compensate for his retirement on Saturday and clinch the series with seventh place in Race 2 which saw Frenchman Nato claim his maiden Formula E win.


The 2022 FIA Formula E World Championship (Season 8) will kick off in Saudi Arabia on January 28.

Race 1 – Final positions:

  1. Lucas du Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), 38 laps
  2. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), +0.141s
  3. Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing), +5.499s
  4. Norman Nato (RoKit Venturi Racing), +5.589s
  5. Jake Dennis (BMW Andretti Motorsport), +5.830s


Race 2 – Final positions:

  1. Norman Nato (Rokit Venturi Racing)
  2. Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), +2.270s
  3. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ FE Team), +2.837s
  4. André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche FE Team), +7.105s
  5. Alexander Sims (Mahindra Racing), +8.453s



MotoGP™: Márquez takes assertive Austin win

Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) was in unbeatable form at the Red Bull Grand Prix of The Americas – Round 15 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship – at the notoriously bumpy Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas. The Spaniard was followed over the line by Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) who made it three different bikemakers on the podium in another display of the MICHELIN Power tire range’s exceptional versatility.  


MotoGP™: Bagnaia wins on home soil as Michelin helps more records tumble

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) scored his second victory in as many weekends by winning the Gran Premio Octo di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini, Round 14 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship. The Italian was joined on the podium by Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and rookie Enea Bastianini (Avintia Esponsorama), while the MICHELIN Power Slick range contributed to new track-lap, race-lap and shortest race-duration records for Misano. 


MotoGP™: Maiden MotoGPTM win for Bagnaia and Michelin’s 460th!

The Gran Premio TISSOT de Aragón (Round 13 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship) saw Lenovo Ducati Team’s Francesco Bagnaia collect the first win of his career at this level. Second and third at Aragon were Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and defending champ Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR), while four different Michelin-equipped bikemakers filled the top four places as more records tumbled at the exacting Spanish circuit. 


MotoGP™: Quartararo uncatchable at Silverstone

Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) dominated Round 12 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship at Silverstone, Great Britain, to notch up his fifth victory of the campaign. He led comfortably for most of the Monster Energy British Grand Prix to beat Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR), while Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) harvested Aprilia’s maiden MotoGPTM podium finish. The top six places featured six different bikemakers – a first in MotoGPTM history and further evidence of the MICHELIN Power range’s outstanding versatility.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup



Desarrollo sostenible