24H du Mans

Toyota Hypercar takes Michelin’s Le Mans score to 24 wins in a row!

Michelin has extended its winning streak to a record-breaking 24 straight victories at Le Mans after Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José-Maria Lopez scored their first and Toyota Gazoo Racing’s fourth victory in the world-famous endurance race. The trio’s N°7 GR0101-Hybrid spearheaded an emphatic one-two finish for the Japanese make to celebrate the beginning of the exciting new Hypercar era in La Sarthe. Third-placed Alpine joined in the podium festivities, while newcomer Glickenhaus Racing completed the distance in fourth and fifth places. Michelin’s successful run in LMGTE continued, too, with AF Corse-tended Ferraris dominating both the Pro and Am classes.

24H du Mans

Michelin’s new Hypercar-generation tires ready for Le Mans debut

Having triumphed at Le Mans with a variety of petrol, diesel and hybrid prototypes over the past 20 or so years, Michelin is poised to kick off a new era as the famous French circuit prepares to host the latest-generation Hypercars equipped with an all-new range of specific MICHELIN Pilot Sport tires.

24H du Mans

First pole of Le Mans Hypercar era for Toyota/Michelin

A perfect lap during this evening’s Hyperpole shootout saw Kamui Kobayashi put Toyota and Michelin at the front of the grid for Saturday’s Le Mans 24 Hours. The N°7 GR010-Hybrid (Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez) claimed the team’s fifth pole in a row and the first of the new Hypercar era. The N°8 sister car was second, ahead of the N°36 Alpine and N°708 Glickenhaus. The five Hypercar prototypes were covered by just three seconds. Porsche/Michelin clinched both the LMGTE Pro and Am poles.

Kobayashi’s first flying lap for Toyota in Thursday evening’s Hyperpole shootout (a new Le Mans qualifying format introduced last year) sufficed to bag the Hypercar era’s first-ever pole position. As was the plan for these new-generation machines, his time of 3m23.900s for the 13.626-kilometer track was some six seconds slower than his record-breaking effort of 2017, but perhaps closer than many had been expecting to the Japanese make’s benchmark with the former LMP1 hybrid prototype!

At the wheel of the N°8 car, Brendon Hartley completed his quickest lap less than 3/10ths of a second short to ensure another all-Toyota/MICHELIN Pilot Sport front-row Le Mans start.

“We wanted to start the first Le Mans 24 Hours of the Hypercar era from pole position, and we have achieved that,” smiled Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Technical Director Pascal Vasselon after the session. “It was a strong lap by Kamui and the conditions perfectly matched the window of the tire-specification we chose.”

The other Hypercar contenders finished in the immediate slipstream of the Japanese cars, with the N°36 Alpine, and N°708 and N°709 Glickenhaus prototypes in third, fourth and fifth places, blanketed by a mere 1.4 seconds. The proximity of the five cars’ times points to a particularly interesting race this weekend as the famous French race opens a new chapter of its unique history.

Porsche/Michelin ruled the roost in both LMGTE classes, with Dries Vanthoor pocketing Pro’s top spot in the N°72 Hub Auto Racing 919 RSR-19 (Vanthoor/Parente/Martin), while the N°52 Ferrari/Michelin and N°64 Corvette/Michelin made it three different carmakers on the evening’s rostrum, split by barely 2/10ths of a second.

Meanwhile, Porsche/Michelin locked out the top-three places in the LMGTE Am order which was spearheaded by the N°88 Dempsey Proton Racing car of Andlauer/Bastien/Arnold.

The Hyperpole run was followed by the week’s final two hours of free practice and, in accordance with Le Mans tradition, the drivers will now have Friday free (except for their various PR and media commitments) to get in some welcome rest ahead of the weekend’s twice-around-the-clock classic which kicks off on Saturday afternoon at 4pm CEST.


MotoGP™: Márquez takes assertive Austin win

Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) was in unbeatable form at the Red Bull Grand Prix of The Americas – Round 15 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship – at the notoriously bumpy Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas. The Spaniard was followed over the line by Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) who made it three different bikemakers on the podium in another display of the MICHELIN Power tire range’s exceptional versatility.  


MotoGP™: Bagnaia wins on home soil as Michelin helps more records tumble

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) scored his second victory in as many weekends by winning the Gran Premio Octo di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini, Round 14 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship. The Italian was joined on the podium by Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and rookie Enea Bastianini (Avintia Esponsorama), while the MICHELIN Power Slick range contributed to new track-lap, race-lap and shortest race-duration records for Misano. 


MotoGP™: Maiden MotoGPTM win for Bagnaia and Michelin’s 460th!

The Gran Premio TISSOT de Aragón (Round 13 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship) saw Lenovo Ducati Team’s Francesco Bagnaia collect the first win of his career at this level. Second and third at Aragon were Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and defending champ Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR), while four different Michelin-equipped bikemakers filled the top four places as more records tumbled at the exacting Spanish circuit. 


MotoGP™: Quartararo uncatchable at Silverstone

Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) dominated Round 12 of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship at Silverstone, Great Britain, to notch up his fifth victory of the campaign. He led comfortably for most of the Monster Energy British Grand Prix to beat Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR), while Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) harvested Aprilia’s maiden MotoGPTM podium finish. The top six places featured six different bikemakers – a first in MotoGPTM history and further evidence of the MICHELIN Power range’s outstanding versatility.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup



Desarrollo sostenible