MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP™: Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) triumphs in Valencia

After claiming the season’s opener in Qatar, Andrea Dovizioso concluded the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship with victory in Valencia. The Italian was unfazed when the race was red flagged due to heavy rain and he went on to finish clear of Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR/Michelin) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing/Michelin).



The season’s curtain-closer at Circuit Ricardo Tormo was marked by heavy rain and the race was interrupted after 14 of the 27 scheduled laps shortly after Dovizioso had dislodged Rins from the provisional lead, closely tailed by Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP/Michelin).

When the race restarted with 14 laps remaining, the grid order was based on positions after Lap 13, which meant Rins had the honour of starting from pole, ahead of Dovizioso and Rossi. The Ducati rider passed back in front second time around, however, and went on to collect his fourth win of the campaign.

Rins held on to pocket his second second place of the season after earning the silver medal two weeks ago in Malaysia. His reward was fifth place in the 2018 championship standings.

Rossi had been Dovizioso’s closest threat but he was caught out with five laps remaining. The nine-time world champion ended up 13th and completed the year on the third step of the podium.

The Italian’s fall allowed Espargaro to secure the first top-three result of his career at MotoGPTM level, while Michele Pirro (Ducati Team/Michelin) was fourth and Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) celebrated his swansong appearance with fifth place.

Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda/Michelin) ended up sixth and best-placed Independent Team Rider, followed by Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3/Michelin) who clinched the 2018 Independent Team Rider title.

Bradley Smith (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing/Michelin), Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda/Michelin) and Hafizh Syarhin (Monster Yamaha Tech 3/Michelin) rounded out the afternoon’s top 10.

MICHELIN Power Rain tyres were used for practically all of the weekend’s sessions, with the exception of qualifying which took place on a dry track. All the riders lined up for Sunday’s second start with soft Michelins front and rear, except for Rins who opted for a medium front.

After celebrating the season’s end this evening, the teams and riders will return to the Spanish track on Tuesday for the first of two days of official testing to prepare for 2019 in their new colours.

Tyre choice


FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.

The Nürburgring 24 Hours delivers all-Michelin podium

Michelin runners monopolised the top three places at this year’s Nürburgring 24 Hours with three different carmakers. The top prize went to the Phoenix-run N°4 Audi R8 LMS of Kaffer/Stippler/Vervisch/Vanthoor, ahead of the N°911 Porsche 911 GT3-R (Manthey Racing, Bamber/Estre/Christensen/Vanthoor) and N°3 Mercedes-AMG GT3 (Black Falcon, Buhk/Haupt/Jaeger/Stolz). 

FIA Formula E

Formula E success for Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) in Bern

Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) followed up victory in qualifying for the Bern E-Prix with a flag-to-flag win that has extended his lead in the Drivers’ standings ahead of the 2018/2019 FIA Formula E Championship’s two-race finale in New York. The Frenchman was followed over the line in Switzerland by Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) and André Lotterer (DS Techeetah).

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - 2019 Julius Baer Swiss E-Prix - Racecard

All you ever wanted to know about the Bern E-Prix.Click on the photo to download the racecard.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018

Desarrollo sostenible