Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


MotoGP : titre pour Marquez, victoire pour Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) a remporté la 18ème et dernière épreuve du championnat du monde MotoGPTM, Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana, devant Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3) et le nouveau champion du monde, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team).


MotoGP: Assen’s ‘Cathedral of Speed’ for the Dutch GP

Assen is the only circuit to have been visited by the MotoGPTM World Championship every season since 1949. The Motul TT Assen is round eight of the 2017 calendar.


Thanks to back-to-back wins at Mugello and Barcelona, Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) is second in the provisional Riders’ standings, seven points short of Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP). The Ducati star had to wait seven years between his first two MotoGP successes (Great Britain 2009 / Malaysia 2016), but the next two followed within a week of each other and the Italian has emerged as a definite contender for this year’s crown.

Meanwhile, Viñales will be looking to add a fourth victory to his 2017 tally in the Netherlands where his team-mate Valentino Rossi (5th, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) has his sights set on his first win of the year at a track that has tended to be happy hunting ground for him in the past. Indeed, the nine-time world champion has a record of seven victories and nine podium finishes there in the sport’s premier class.

Repsol Honda Team’s Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa are third and fourth in the provisional classification after coming second and third respectively two weeks ago in Barcelona. The former won at Assen in 2014, while his team-mate totals five MotoGP podiums there.

After qualifying on the front row for the first time this year in Barcelona, Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) hopes to keep up his momentum and finish on the podium.

Two other riders have been going well since the beginning of the season, namely Monster Yamaha Tech3’s Johann Zarco and Jonas Folger. The Frenchman is provisionally sixth in the championship, as well as the best-placed rookie and best-placed independent team rider.

Soft, medium and hard front and rear MICHELIN Power Slicks (asymmetric rear tyres) will be available for the Dutch race, along with soft- and medium-compound MICHELIN Power Rains for wet weather.

The Dutch TT was traditionally held on a Saturday until last year and this year’s race will again take place on the Sunday, albeit to a modified timetable. Practice is due to start on Friday, June 23, followed by qualifying on Saturday. The 26-lap grand prix will start at 1pm local time the next day.

Download the press release here

Download the racecard here


Toyota wins as Porsche/Michelin seals 2017 WEC crown

Victory for the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin at the 6 Hours of Shanghai in the hands of Buemi/Davidson/Nakajima did not prevent Porsche Team from securing a third straight FIA WEC title. The German squad’s Timo Bernard, Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber claimed the 2017 Drivers’ crown. 


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

2016 Records

Desarrollo sostenible

De la pista a la calle