Tänak wins in Wales

The 2019 Wales Rally GB – Round 12 of the FIA World Rally Championship – was won by Toyota/Michelin’s Ott Tänak, ahead of Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). The all-new Michelin Latitude Cross S70 helped Kalle Rovanperä to claim the WRC2 Pro spoils and clinch the class’s title.


FIA WRC - Wales Rally GB - Racecard

All you need to know abour the Wales Rally GB. Click on the photo to get the racecard.


Tänak (Toyota/Michelin) claims second straight Rally Finland win

Ott Tänak secured the 10th win of his world championship career with victory in Finland, ahead of local stars Esapekka Lappi (Citroën/Michelin) and Jari-Matti Latvala (Toyota/Michelin). The Estonian’s title rivals Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin) and Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) were fifth and sixth. Skoda/Michelin’s Kalle Rovanperä won his home round of the WRC2 Pro championship.

Rally Finland, the fastest round of the season, has long accustomed us to nail-biting battles at average speeds of around 130kph on the country’s famous forest dirt roads. The classification after SS8 (Urria) illustrated the ferocity of this year’s scrap when Latvala appeared at the top of the order chased by Kris Meeke (Toyota/Michelin), Lappi and Tänak who were equal second, a mere six-tenths of a second adrift. Meanwhile, four of the stages contested up to that point had been won by a margin of just one-tenth!

To have the confidence required to tackle Rally Finland’s notorious blind corners and jumps at speeds in excess of 170kph, the drivers must obviously have total faith in their co-driver, car and tyres, and, once again, both the Michelin LTX Force and Latitude Cross provided them with the necessary grip and steering precision. This time around, the overcast conditions and mild temperatures ranging from 10 to 15°C prompted Michelin’s WRC and WRC2 partners to favour the softer of the two options available to them.

After the fiercely fought opening day, the order opened up a little on Saturday morning when Meeke and Latvala clipped the same rock on SS14. The Briton was forced to retire, but the Finn was able to continue, albeit out of contention for a fourth victory on home soil.

Leg 2 was subsequently dominated by Tänak who pushed home the benefit of a favourable running order to pull gradually clear of Lappi and lay the foundations for his 10th WRC success after posting his 200th stage win (his 170th on Michelin tyres) on the last morning.

The rally also produced a thrilling fight for fourth place which was ultimately pocketed by Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai/Michelin), ahead of Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). Craig Breen slowed to hand sixth place to his Hyundai/Michelin team-mate Thierry Neuville at the end of the event, while Teemu Suninen was eighth for M-Sport Ford WRT/Michelin.

Rovanperä (Skoda/Michelin) dominated the WRC2 Pro scrap to beat Eric Camilli who was driving the new Ford Fiesta R5 Evo/Michelin. Pierre-Louis Loubet led the WRC2 class until his off on Saturday evening which handed the top prize to Russia’s Nikolay Gryazin (Skoda/Michelin).

The championship returns to asphalt next with Rallye Deutschland on August 22-25.

2019 Rally Finland – final positions:
1. Tänak/Järveoja (Toyota Yaris WRC), 2h30m40.3s
2. Lappi/Ferm (Citroën C3 WRC),+25.6s
3. Latvala/Anttila (Toyota Yaris WRC), +33.2s
4. Mikkelsen/Jaeger (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC),+53.4s
5. Ogier/Ingrassia (Citroën C3 WRC), +56.1s
6. Neuville/Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC),+1m32.4s
7. Breen/Nagle (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC),+1m38.2s
8. Suninen/Lehtinen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC),+2m33.8s
9. Rovanperä/Halttunen (Skoda Fabia R5 Evo) (1st, WRC2 Pro),+7m54.1s
10. Gryazin/Fedorov (Skoda Fabia R5) (1st, WRC2),+10m28.7s


MotoGP™ - Motul Grand Prix of Japan - Racecard

Michelin is ready for the busiest 3-weeks of the MotoGP season as the championship begins a trio of races starting with Motul Grand Prix of Japan before heading to Australia and Malaysia. Download our racecard to to find out more about this round!Click on the photo to dowload the racecard.

Michelin’s first Formula 1 world titles

In 1979, Michelin demonstrated the superiority of its radial tyre technology by claiming the first of its titles in the Formula 1 World Championship. Forty years on, the French firm continues to see motorsport as a means to innovate and take its technologies forward, especially in competitions that place the accent on sustainable mobility and lasting performance. 


Seventh heaven for Toyota/Michelin at Fuji

Seven is a lucky number in Japan. It is also the number of times Toyota/Michelin has won its home round – the 6 Hours of Fuji – since the FIA World Endurance Championship’s creation in 2012. This year’s victory went to the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid of Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley, chased by the N°7 sister car of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez. Michelin came first in all four classes thanks to the N°29 Oreca07-Gibson in LMP2, and the N°95 and N°90 Aston Martins in LMGTE Pro and Am.


MotoGP™: Márquez claims victory and the 2019 title in Thailand

Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) finished on top after a splendid scrap with Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha Petronas SRT) to collect his ninth win of the year and put the seal on his eighth world crown – his sixth at MotoGPTM level. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) was third as Michelin tyres contributed to a grand slam of new records (fastest lap, fastest race lap, top speed and race duration) thanks to its MICHELIN Power Slick range which proved a perfect match for the challenge of Buriram.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018

Desarrollo sostenible