Second Spa success for the N°8 Toyota/Michelin!

The N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin (Buemi/Nakajima/Alonso) overcame atrocious weather to secure its second straight victory at Spa-Francorchamps. The six-hour race was interrupted on several occasions due to hailstones and even snow. The other podium finishers were the N°3 Rebellion/Michelin N°3 (Berthon/Laurent/Menezes) and the N°11 BR1-AER/Michelin (Aleshin/Petrov/Vandoorne). In addition to securing the top prize in LMP2 with Dragonspeed’s N°31 Oreca-Gibson (Maldonado/Gonzalez/Davidson), Michelin also topped the LM GTE Pro and LM GTE Am classes with the N°97 Aston Martin (Martin/Lynn) and N°77 Dempsey-Proton Porsche (Ried/Pera/Campbell). Porsche and the N°92 crew Christensen/Estre are the 2018/2019 FIA WEC GT Manufacturers and Drivers champions with Michelin.


FIA WEC - 6 Hours of Spa - Racecard

All you ever wanted to know about the 6 Hours of Spa, penultimate of the 2018/2019 World Endurance Championship (WEC) Super Season.Click on the photo to download the racecard.


Victory at Sebring for Toyota/Michelin

Round six of the 2018/2019 FIA World Endurance Championship at Sebring, Florida, USA, was won by the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin of Buemi/Nakajima/Alonso. The N°91 Porsche/Michelin of Lietz/Bruni came out on top after a thrilling battle in LM GTE Pro.



After dominating every practice session for the 1,000 Miles of Sebring and smashing the previous lap record for the Florida circuit in qualifying with Fernando Alonso in the N°8 car, the two Toyota TS050 Hybrids unsurprisingly dominated the race itself.

Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso Miles followed up their previous 2018/2019 WEC successes at Spa and Le Mans to top Saturday evening’s order. The N°7 car of team-mates Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez completed the distance a lap back after being caught up in a tangle with an LM GTE Am runner.

The third-placed N°11 BR1/Michelin (SMP Racing, Aleshin/Petrov/Hartley) finished 11 laps short, chased by LMP2 victors Heinemeier-Hansson/King/Stevens. Rebellion Racing’s N°1 BR1/Michelin and the N°17 BR1/Michelin (SMP Racing) both crashed out.

Spectators were treated to yet another enthralling scrap in LM GTE Pro between Porsche, BMW and Ford who finished in that order to make it an all-Michelin podium. Victory went to the N°91 Porsche of Richard Lietz/Gianmaria Bruni, but only 816-thousandths of a second clear of the N°81 BMW M8 GTE (Tomczyk/Catsburg/Sims) which took advantage of its last pit stop to fit Michelin wet weather tyres as rain swept across the track during the closing moments. The N°67 Ford GT (Priaulx/Tincknell/Bomarito) had to settle for third spot despite leading for much of the evening.


There was another win for the N°77 Porsche/Michelin (Ried/Andlauer/Campbell) in LM GTE Am, ahead of the Spirit of Race-run Ferrari/Michelin of Flohr/Castelacci/Fisichella. The class’s other podium finisher was the N°56 Porsche/Michelin which had to be rebuilt after catching fire earlier in the week.

In LMP2, Signatech-Alpine (Lapierre/Negrao/Thiriet) celebrated its return to the Michelin fold by securing second place. The N°31 Oreca-Nissan/Michelin (DragonSpeed, Gonzalez/Maldonado/Davidson was third.

The weekend’s action continues with the 12 Hours of Sebring, round two of the 2019 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, which starts on Saturday afternoon local time.

To cover the two races, Michelin took 16,000 tyres to Florida.

The next 2018/2019 FIA WEC clash will see teams travel to Belgium for the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on May 2

24H du Mans

2019 LE MANS 24 HOURS - Long-lasting performance to the line, with Michelin…

This year, as always, Michelin’s mission at Le Mans is to provide the drivers of the 53 cars competing on its tyres with superior grip and long-lasting performance as it bids to extend the unbeaten spell it has enjoyed in the endurance racing classic since 1998. Meanwhile, Michelin is busy working on mobility for the future in association with the fuel cell-powered GreenGT prototype which will perform a parade lap of the French circuit. 

24H du Mans

Michelin’s first test of 2019 at Le Mans

The pre-Le Mans 24 Hours test day is the only opportunity teams get to test at the famous 13.626-kilometre track ahead of race-week itself. Unsurprisingly, Sunday’s order was dominated by the Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids.


MotoGP™ - Danilo Petrucci earns maiden MotoGPTM victory at Mugello

Danilo Petrucci claimed the first premier-class win of his career at his home race on an Italian bike. The Ducati Team rider earned rapturous applause from the local fans when he was first across the line at Mugello, home of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship’s sixth round. Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Petrucci’s team-mate Andrea Dovizioso were second and third. The performance of Michelin’s latest-generation MotoGPTM tyres contributed to the tumbling of several records.  


Portugal glory for Toyota/Michelin

Twenty-five years after their last win together on the event as a WRC round*, Toyota and Michelin claimed the top prize at this year’s Rally de Portugal thanks to Ott Tänak. Second and third were Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). With half of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship completed, Ogier tops the Provisional Drivers’ standings, two and ten points clear of his Estonian and Belgian rivals respectively. The new Skoda Fabia R5 Evo/Michelin got its career of to a flying start with a one-two finish in WRC2 Pro thanks to Kalle Rovanperä and Jan Kopecky.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018

Desarrollo sostenible